Angelyn Tabalba

Nevada Conservation League Announces ‘Automatic’ Endorsements for State Environmental Champions in 2022 Election Cycle

Endorsements are provided to incumbents with strong environmental track records during past legislative sessions 

LAS VEGAS, Nev — Today, the Nevada Conservation League announced endorsements of 15 State Senate and Assembly incumbents running for re-election who have a strong track record in advancing environmental protection and a healthy climate. ‘Automatic endorsements’ by the Nevada Conservation League were given to legislators who earned a lifetime score of 90 or more on the Nevada Conservation League legislative scorecard over the course of two or more legislative sessions. The full list of candidates can be found below. 

Nevada Conservation League Policy and Advocacy Director Christi Cabrera said:

“On the heels of the latest, devastating IPCC report calling for real, transformative action from our leaders to prevent the climate crisis from escalating, our work to elect climate champions is as important as ever. We are proud to endorse candidates who represent diverse communities and have been key to passing crucial bills regarding climate change, energy, public lands, environmental justice, wildlife, and democracy. We know they will continue the fight to deliver protections for our environment.” 

These Auto-endorsed candidates were critical in sponsoring and passing the following bills: 

  • AB 385 (2017): Legislation to give every 5th grade student a pass to Nevada State Parks
  • AB 465 (2019): Legislation to create an expand solar access program
  • AJR 2 (2019): Legislation that supports the protection of the Desert National Wildlife Refuge
  • AB 349 (2021): Legislation to reduce dangerous smog pollution
  • AB 211 (2021): Legislation to require the consideration of impacts to wildlife and habitats in development plans

In the coming weeks, the organization will announce additional endorsements in races up and down the ballot for the 2022 election system. 

The Nevada Conservation League is the independent political voice of Nevada’s conservation community and leading conservation advocacy organization. The organization mobilizes community advocates for sound environmental laws and policies, educates and holds elected officials accountable for their votes and actions, and elects pro-environment candidates who will champion our priority issues. 

Full list of candidates: 

Nevada State Senate: 

Marilyn Dondero-Loop (SD 8)

Melanie Scheible (SD 9)

James Ohrenschall (SD 21)

Nevada State Assembly: 

Daniele Monroe-Moreno (AD 1)

Selena Torres (AD 3) 

Brittney Miller (AD 5)

Steve Yeager (AD 9)

Rochelle Nguyen (AD 10)

Bea Duran (AD 11)

Howard Watts (AD 15)

Sarah Peters (AD 24)

Lesley Cohen (AD 29)

Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod (AD 34)

Michelle Gorelow (AD 35)

Sandra Jauregui (AD 41)

Share this post